Home » History


The Southeastern Neuroradiological Society (SENRS) is a regional organization of neuroradiologists promoting education in the different aspects of the subspecialty of neuroradiology. The SENRS was originated and founded by Barry Gerald in May, 1977 in Memphis, Tennessee. Its first organizational meeting was held at the Royal Orleans Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana in November 1977. The Southeastern Neuroradiological Society was first incorporated in the State of Louisiana In October, 1978 and reincorporated in the State of Florida on January 25, 1983.

 The annual meeting continues to be a significant part of the SENRS, providing a collegial atmosphere which enhances education, dissemination and exchange of scientific information, and personal and professional fellowship. The SENRS geographic boundaries are defined as the states of Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia. Any board certified radiologist devoting not less than one-half of his/her time to the professional practice of Neuroradiology is eligible for membership in the Society.


Barry E. Gerald
(Inaugural President)
Richard Trevor
(Inaugural Vice-Pres.)
G. Douglas Hungerford
(Inaugural Secretary/Treasurer)
Taher El Gammal John Goree Pulla R.S. Kishore James W.  Langston
D.W. Laster J. Leon Morris David F. Powell Robert M. Quencer
Ronald G. Quisling Hugh J. Robertson Paul Ross James Scatliff
William R. Scott Norman Stokes Frederick S. Vines Don Q. Vining
Howard R. Wilkov J. Powell Williams